Identify by aircraft characteristics








Below check the specific characteristics of the aircraft you are looking for. You can select multiple items for each characteristic. The results will be filtered automatically. 

Douglas A-20 Havoc

The Douglas A-20 has a mid-wing configuration, but with the wings placed above the middle of the fuselage. Under the wings are long nacelles with radial engines and a place to store the single wheel main gear. Typical is the blunt nose.

Douglas A3D/A-3 Skywarrior

The Skywarrior is a big aircraft that operated from aircraft carriers. Characteristic to the bomber are the cruciform tail with low mounted horizontal stabiliser, jet engines in pods on pylons under the wings and blunt tail cone. 

The Douglas Skyhawk is a small fighter with semi circular air intakes just after the canopy, delta wings and delta shaped horizontal stabilisers attached to the vertical stabiliser in a rather low cruciform shape. Typical for the A-4 is the long nose gear so that the aircraft is nose high, tail low when on the ground. 

Douglas AD/A-1 Skyraider

This attack aircraft has a big radial in the nose. The fuselage has a nearly constant height, at least when seen from the side. The vertical stabiliser is tall and nearly rectangular, but with curved corners and a small dorsal fin. Most versions have a bubble canopy, sometimes a stretched one.

Douglas C-124 Globemaster II

In the 1950s this was a big military transport aircraft, powered by four piston engines in the wing leadings edges. It has two decks as can be seen in the two rows of cabin windows. (Un)loading cargo happens through clamshell doors under the forward fuselage and in the rear fuselage.

One of the most iconic aircraft ever built should be recognised by everyone. The short nose cockpit windows are a good starting point, together with the rectangular cabin windows, and tapered wings, with a swept leading edge and straight trailing edge.

Douglas DC-4 & C-54 Skymaster

The Douglas DC-4 a.k.a. C-54 Skymaster is the smallest of the three four engined Douglas transport aircraft with a single vertical fin. It has oval, nearly round cabin windows. The oil coolers on top of the engines are long and run to the end of the nacelles.

Douglas DC-6

The DC-6 fits between the smaller DC-4 and bigger DC-7, and looks most like the latter. It also has rectangular cabin windows. However, the oil coolers on top of the engines are much shorter. They disappear in the nacelles near the wing's leading edge.

Douglas DC-7

The DC-7 is the biggest of the three four engined Douglas transport aircraft with a single vertical fin. It has the rectangular cabin windows of the DC-6 and the long oil coolers on top of the engines of the DC-4. Also the vertical stabiliser is taller.

Most typical for the DC-8 are the two air intakes at the bottom of the nose. Also the DC-8 has one large eyebrown cockpit window on each side, but has no forward pointing antenna at the top of the vertical stabiliser.